It’s a meaningful life

Signs like this one along the course encourage participants as they pass.
Signs like this one along the course encourage participants as they pass.
“The unexamined life is not worth living” was apparently uttered by  Socrates. That is why while I count myself strongly in the atheist camp I love the celebration of Yom Kippur with my family. At very least once a year I get to sit down and reflect on events that happened to me, on my response to those events, on things that I have accomplished, on  behaviours that I need to improve upon.  I get to set my expectations for myself and my closest people and ask them to forgive me for my shortcomings. On that note as I stand here today these things I find necessary:

  1. I am always attentive to the troubles and victories of people closest to me. I offer a suggestion if one is expected of me. That’s the most essential part of being present in lives of people that are close to me.
  2. I am willing to argue only over the things that are important to me. I will negotiate a long term arrangement, but will not abandon my conviction as long as I feel it is important.
  3. I believe that I would love to dwell and work at the center of a larger city. It might be an illusion, but the energy draws me in immensely.
  4. I always strive to give a reason to people closest to me to love me unconditionally. Always give them unconditional love in return.
  5. I have a brain of a geek that knows that he needs to know more. I need people that are my tribe in that regard with all consequences that come out of this.
  6. I do hypothesize a lot, but I am only happy when I follow through on my promises to myself.
  7. I am externally motivated and I am aware of that, so I pick circumstances that will motivate me to accomplish what I want to get done.
  8. I need interesting physical activities, pedal in events with my wife and family, race in a pool with my son, work out my body to achieve goals. Do yoga to feel connected with myself whenever I can.
  9. Coffee, water, wine, scotch, stretching, sleep, good food prepared from scratch. Find the right balance, repeat as necessary.
  10. “May I never be complete. May I never be content. May I never be perfect.”
    ― Chuck Palahniuk, Fight Club

Enough features have been included for this to be an MVP. I am shipping this one.

Leave a Reply

